Hello!

January 2, 2010 at 12:22 AM Leave a comment

Well, I’m nervous talking to right now, precisely no one. So I thought instead of writing a teacher’s guide to the Take Action Project, I’d blog it for a more real-time feel of what you’d be letting yourself in for. Plus it’s WAY more fun for me this way 🙂

I’m excited, it’s the first of Jan, a great day to get started on the project that I feel passionate about. My colleague Karen and I will be hitting them with it their first day back, to fit in with their new year’s resolution to save the world. They are hopefully not old enough in 7th grade to want to lose 10lbs.

Anne our web meistress and non-profit sector advisor, and I had a blast presenting this project at NSTA at the beginning of December. Meeting other educators interested in the Take Action Project was the high point for us. I know there are more of us out there, and as far as I can find, not that much in the way of a community of educators implementing project based learning.

The website, the blog and the facebook page mentioned in the links of this blog, are all part of our effort to make a community for teachers by teachers.  Because implementing project-based learning can be a daunting, scary, stressful task by yourself. If we do it together, we could get together, and we could have a lot more fun. It’s got to be fun for us as well as the kids, or we won’t keep doing it.  The state of the world is so scary, this project offers me a way out of despair – it feels like the best I can do to make a difference. I hope it could do the same for you. Karen and I really did have fun with this our first year out and this year will be the new and improved version.

It’s late here in El Sobrante, Ca, sitting in my cozy house on the edge of the California wild lands. Have a great start to your new year. Looking forward to getting to know you. Night night,

Sue B.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Welcome to the TAP Blog Grading blues

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 387 other followers


