Grading blues

January 2, 2010 at 10:00 PM Leave a comment

I hate it when I leave the stack of project write ups to the last day or two of the vacation! Doh.

After 26 years of grading, I’m getting a little faster at it – grade just one question and go through all of them. Then go on to q.2, I break it down into little pieces so I get a feeling of getting somewhere. Plus I’m more consistent between kids that way.

I used to do each student’s whole paper and that was just a killer. The trick is to NOT have to think too hard. Sort of like why it’s much better working on the line at a canning factory compared to working in a posh ski wear shop where you had to engage a little bit. At least in the canning factory you can sing in the noise, talk to yourself etc….

7th period always does way worse than the others. A few kids do have learning difficulties but it’s like it’s infectious. The rest of the class are a similar demographic to students in the other classes and they do worse than comparable kids earlier in the day. The 7th period, tired at the end of the day effect is also not enough to explain the drop off.

I read about the effect of peer pressure on academic achievement and this is a case in point. I’ll have to be careful how I handle giving back 7th periods horrible tests to avoid dispiriting them for the Take Action Project. The ethos of the class can so easily turn against the teacher when there are several really disappointed kids. Maybe will tell them about the peer pressure research, and have a redo opportunity available. In the end, I have to get across that it’s because I care about them and respect them, that I expect high standards of them. Compassionate demand – a phrase and idea that I really love.

Happy grading blues too you too!

Sue

Entry filed under: Assessment and grading. Tags: , , .

Hello! Lining up the ducks

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 393 other followers


